Queer By Association: When Supposedly Loving People Look For Loopholes

Standard

john pavlovitz

Angry

“John, are you a homosexual? A simple ‘Yes’ or ‘No’ will suffice?”

– Ralph, (a Christian blog reader)

I’m not so sure a yes or no answer will suffice.

I’m actually quite sure that it won’t.

This is such sad and unfortunate response, though I wish I could say that it was a rare one.

I will often get a (sometimes quite colorful) variation on this theme, from professed religious folk on my blog comments, especially when an impasse is reached and they find that I will not likely be moved from my position: “Dude, you must be a fag!” (You know—sweet, loving, Jesus kind of stuff, like that).

Apparently to some Christians, the only logical explanation for a person of faith speaking on behalf of the “homosexual” community, is that they themselves must also be so: a sort of, covert queer self-preservation.

It never occurs to those people that we don’t…

View original post 564 more words

Leave a Reply

